Car Insurance Rates by State
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), the average car insurance rate in 2017 was $1,004. Because different factors affect car insurance rates, such as zip code and claims history, car insurance rates vary between states. So, even if you live in the cheapest state or one of the more expensive states, your insurance rate could be different than the national average.
It’s important to remember that every driver’s car insurance policy is unique to them. Because the factors insurers look at affect each person differently, car insurance costs will vary.
Which State Has the Highest Car Insurance?
Louisiana had the highest average car insurance cost of $1,443. According to the latest III data, that’s about $439 more expensive than the national average.
Which State Has the Lowest Car Insurance?
Maine had the lowest average car insurance rate, according to the most recent data from III. With a cost of $667, it’s about $337 cheaper than the national average rate.
When states require different car insurance laws and coverages, there can be a lot to keep in mind when you’re getting a policy. We’ve made it easy for you to get auto insurance information for your state. Click on your state and learn more.
Common Questions About State Car Insurance
What Other Factors Impact Your Auto Insurance?
When you get a quote, car insurance companies
look at the required coverage in your state and other factors to create a driver profile, such as your:
- Geographic location, because rural or urban areas can affect rates. For example, living in a more populated area can increase your cost because you can face a higher risk of an accident or vandalism.
- Driving history, since having a clean record shows an insurer you’re a safe driver.
- Credit score, because some states allows insurers to look at your credit history to determine your financial responsibility. So if you have good credit, it can reduce your policy cost.
What States Do Not Require Car Insurance?
Only two states don’t require car insurance: Virginia and New Hampshire. Virginia drivers can pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee if they don’t want to carry insurance. Although drivers don’t have to carry insurance in both states, they’re still responsible for damages if they’re involved in an at-fault accident. This can put your personal assets at risk, so it’s important to get the right coverage to help protect you on the road.
Can I Use Car Insurance From Another State?
Yes, if you have an active car insurance policy, it will travel with you to other states. If you move to another state, you’ll likely have to get a new auto policy. You can work with a local insurance agent or contact your insurer to change your policy.