What’s the Best Car Insurance in NJ?
Finding the best car insurance in NJ starts with comparing the companies in your area. When comparing, be sure to review their customer service ratings and car insurance rates. Whether you’re looking for new auto insurance in New Jersey or you’ve just moved to the Garden State, we can help. El documento AARP® Auto Insurance
Program from The Hartford1
has benefits you’ll enjoy with discounts to help you save.
The Hartford has been protecting AARP members in New Jersey and their families with car insurance since 1984. During this time, we’ve earned a reputation for integrity and trust. So, if you need a cotización de seguro para autos
or want to find out more, call our representatives today at 888-413-8970
. También puede contact The Hartford
or get a quote online.
New Jersey Car Insurance Coverages
New Jersey state law requires liability car insurance at the following minimum limits:2
- $5,000 for property damage per accident
- $15,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident
- $30,000 for bodily injury, total per accident
- $15,000 for Personal Injury Protection (PIP), per person, per accident
No-Fault Insurance in New Jersey
New Jersey is a no-fault state. This means that if you’re in a car accident, each driver will need to file a claim with their own insurance. No matter who is at fault in the accident, your no-fault insurance
, also known as personal injury protection car insurance
(PIP), can cover medical insurance deductibles for bodily injuries and lost wages for anyone in your car that is hurt.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage in New Jersey
According to a 2021 Insurance Research Council study, only 3.1% of New Jersey drivers were uninsured in 2019. This is far below the national average of 12.6%.3
Uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance
coverage can help with your medical bills if you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or a driver who does not have enough car insurance coverage. In New Jersey, your uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage must have the following minimum coverage amounts:2
- $15,000 per person
- $30,000 per accident
Additional NJ Car Insurance Coverages
NJ Auto Insurance Discounts & Benefits
New Jersey drivers could receive valuable car insurance discounts and benefits for AARP members
from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
New Jersey Car Insurance Laws
As you travel through New Jersey, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on the road.4
New Jersey Seat Belt Laws
It is required that you wear a seat belt while driving the roads of New Jersey. All passengers in your vehicle must also wear a seat belt, including those in the back seats.
New Jersey Distracted Driving Laws
New Jersey has strict laws to discourage distracted driving and help prevent deaths and injuries. These include:
- Texting and driving is not allowed at any time, unless you’re using hands-free technology.
- While texting and driving is banned for all drivers no matter their age or driver’s license type, new drivers are also not allowed to communicate using hands-free devices.
These laws apply across the state, no matter what town you call home. Whether you’re in Trenton or Jersey City, Newark or Passaic, you can be fined up to $800 and incur points on your license if you do not follow New Jersey’s distracted driving laws.
Proof of Car Insurance in New Jersey
As a licensed driver in New Jersey, you’ll need to keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in your vehicle, along with your registration. New Jersey state law requires proof of your car insurance if you’re in an accident. New Jersey does accept electronic proof of car insurance and with The Hartford mobile app
, you can store your car insurance ID cards right on your phone. For more information, visit the Google Play
™ or App Store
Get a Car Insurance Quote in NJ
Common Questions About Car Insurance in NJ
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in New Jersey?
Your auto insurance rates in the Garden State will depend on the type and level of coverage you select. You will often get a lower rate if you have a clean driving record. Esta car insurance calculator
can give you a quick idea of how much you might pay with The Hartford.
What is the Minimum Car Insurance Required in NJ?
New Jersey state law requires you to have auto insurance coverage of at least $5,000 for property damage per accident. You’ll also need $15,000 for bodily injury and $15,000 for Personal Injury Protection (PIP), both per person, per car accident. Finally, it is required you have $30,000 for bodily injury, total per accident.2
How Can I Lower My Car Insurance in NJ?
Auto insurance rates in New Jersey can vary based on many factors. Driving records, zip codes and credit scores can all impact the total you pay. Llámenos al 888-413-8970
to find benefits that can help you save with The Hartford or get a cotización de seguro para autos
What Is the Best Auto Insurance in NJ?
When comparing car insurance quotes in NJ, you should also check into the insurance company’s financial strength rating and customer satisfaction level. At The Hartford, we’ve earned a reputation for integrity and trust, and we’re proud to have a record of high customer ratings for claims services. You can count on The Hartford for your auto insurance in New Jersey. We’ll be there when you need us most.
Last Updated: October 16, 2023
2 State Department of New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance, “Get Legal with New Jersey’s Basic Auto Insurance Policy”
3 Insurance Information Institute, “Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists”
4 Governors Highway Safety Association, “States”