Auto Insurance in Florida
Whether you just moved to the Sunshine State or are shopping for new car insurance in Florida, you can count on The Hartford to be there when you need us most. With the AARP® Auto Insurance
Program from The Hartford,1
you can have peace of mind as you drive. We’ve been protecting AARP members in Florida since 1984 and have earned a reputation for integrity and trust, as well as high customer ratings for claims services.
If you’re looking to get a quote from an insurance company or need information about buying auto insurance in Florida, you’ve come to the right place.
Car Insurance Quotes for Florida Drivers
Getting a car insurance quote in Florida from The Hartford is so easy that you can do it in minutes. Call The Hartford’s customer service representatives at 888-413-8970
or get a cotización de seguro para autos
What is the Average Car Insurance Cost Per Month in Florida?
According to the Insurance Information Institute, the 2018 average yearly cost for car insurance in Florida was $1,426, averaging to be about $120 per month. Auto insurance rates in Florida will differ depending on things like your credit score, car accident history and the amount of coverage needed.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements
When you get a car insurance quote in Florida, make sure you have enough coverage. Before you can register and operate a vehicle in Florida, you must show proof of insurance. You’ll need Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) auto insurance. State law requires auto insurance in Florida at the following minimum limits:2
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000 per accident
- Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage: $10,000 per person
Coverage Types for Auto Insurance in Florida
- Bodily injury liability coverage: If you’re responsible for a car accident, this can cover costs for people other than you and your passengers.
- Cobertura de responsabilidad por daño a la propiedad: This can help pay for repairs if you cause a car accident that destroys another person’s belongings, like their house, vehicle or trees.
- Cobertura integral: Also known as “other than collision,” this coverage can help pay for damage to your car caused by things like theft, hail, fire or hitting an animal.
- Cobertura contra conductor no asegurado: This coverage will protect you if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, which is someone who doesn’t have bodily injury liability or property damage liability coverage.
- Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage: Also known as “No-fault insurance,” PIP can cover medical insurance deductibles and lost income if anyone in your car is hurt, no matter who’s at fault.
Proof of Car Insurance in Florida
Before you can register a vehicle, you must have auto insurance in Florida. Keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in your vehicle in case of a car accident. Florida accepts electronic proof of insurance. Con The Hartford mobile app
, you can store your information right on your phone. For more information, visit the Google Play
™ or App Store
Florida Car Insurance Laws
As a Florida resident, you are required by law to have auto insurance. If you don’t have car insurance in Florida, you can be fined.
There are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on Florida’s roads. Here are just a few:3
Florida Seat Belt Laws
It is mandatory to wear a seat belt while driving in Florida. All front seat passengers and all passengers under 18 must also have their seat belts fastened.
Florida Distracted Driving Laws
Distracted driving is anything that takes your eyes off the road or your hands off the wheel, like texting while driving, which is banned for all drivers in Florida.
Florida Teen Driver Laws
Florida has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience they need to be safe behind the wheel. These laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure teens with a new driver’s license get driving practice with an adult.
The Financial Responsibility Law
Based on your driving record, you could be required to carry full liability auto insurance in Florida. For example, full coverage
could be required if you have caused a car accident where someone had a covered injury or if you have received excessive points on your license. Past DUIs or repeated driving offenses would be another reason Florida would require you to have full liability car insurance coverage.
The Florida No-Fault Law
Florida car insurance laws require drivers to have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage from their car insurance companies. Florida is a no-fault state, which means that if you’re in a car accident, each driver will file a claim with their own car insurance. Each driver’s insurance company pays for certain losses, like bodily injury, no matter who is at fault. This does not mean that you can’t be sued for injury or damages.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Florida Drivers
- Examen integral de manejo
- New Car Replacement§§
- Exención por accidente‡
- Desaparición progresiva del deducible‡
- Servicio de reclamaciones 24/7
Additional Car Insurance Coverages and Benefits Available to Florida Drivers
Comunicarme con The Hartford
Common Questions About Auto Insurance in Florida
At What Age Is Car Insurance Cheapest?
Generally, car insurance premiums
cost more for drivers who are younger than 25.5
That means as a driver gets older and gains more experience on the road, their rates will likely decrease.6
For some, car insurance rates can begin to increase again after the age of 70. However, this depends on your insurance company.
How Much Is Car Insurance in Florida?
Auto insurance rates in Florida will be different for everyone. The price depends on things like what insurance company you use and the amount of coverage you need. Esta car insurance calculator
can give you a quick idea of how much you might pay with The Hartford.
Is Florida a No-fault State?
Florida is a no-fault state, so if you’re in a car accident, both drivers must file a claim with their own car insurance. No matter who is at fault, each driver’s insurance company will pay for certain losses, like bodily injury. You or the other driver can still be sued for injury, medical expenses or damages.
Why Is Auto Insurance in Florida So Expensive?
Florida is the sixth most expensive state in America to purchase car insurance, according to the Insurance Information Institute. Insurance rates in Florida may be higher because Florida has a high number of uninsured motorists and high-risk drivers. Car insurance rates differ for drivers and are created by insurance companies in Florida. There are many factors, including your driving history that can affect your auto insurance rates. For example, if you have an at-fault car accident, your insurance rate may be higher.
What Is the Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage in Florida?
At a minimum in Florida, you’ll need Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and Property Damage Liability (PDL) for basic auto insurance
. While this is the minimum coverage required in Florida, you may need additional coverage based on your needs.
How Can I Get a Car Insurance Quote in Florida?
It takes only minutes to get an auto insurance quote from The Hartford. You can call a representative at 888-413-8970
o obtener una cotización
online. We’ll help you decide which insurance products and services best fit your needs.
Last Updated: October 13, 2023
2 Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, “Florida Insurance Requirements”
3 Governors Highway Safety Administration, “States”
5 “Insurance Information Institute (III), What Determines the Price of an Auto Insurance Policy?”
6 Insurance Information Institute (III), “Auto Insurance for Teen Drivers.”