Car Insurance for Kansas Drivers
Whether you’re traveling the scenic byways of the Flint Hills or taking in the beautiful wildflowers of the northwest, there are many things to enjoy while on the road in the state of Kansas. As an experienced driver, you want to feel protected with Kansas auto insurance you can trust. You can get the peace of mind you need with the AARP® Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford.1
Since 1984, Kansas AARP members and their families have trusted the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford for their seguro para autos
needs. With The Hartford, you can be sure your insurance quotes in Kansas come from an insurance company with high ratings for claims and customer service.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Kansas Drivers
New Car Replacement: If you total your new car, your policy will help pay to replace it. We’ll make sure your car is replaced with a new vehicle of the same make, model and equipment. There will be no deduction for depreciation.§§
Accident Forgiveness: We understand every driver makes mistakes. As long as all the drivers on your car insurance policy have clean driving records for five straight years with The Hartford, you’ll qualify for accident forgiveness.
Disappearing Deductible: Your collision deductible could be reduced over time, in most states, as long as you maintain a clean driving record.‡
24/7 Claim Service: You can count on The Hartford to be there, no matter what time you call.
What Kind of Car Insurance Does Kansas Require?
In order to register and legally drive a car, you’ll need your Kansas auto insurance to include liability coverage. Kansas law requires liability insurance at the following state minimums:2
- $25,000 per person per accident for bodily injury liability
- $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury liability
- $25,000 for property damage liability per accident
Is Kansas a No-Fault State?
Yes, Kansas is a no-fault state. If you’re in a car accident in Kansas, each driver will file a claim with their own insurance company no matter who is at fault. You are required to have personal injury protection (PIP), also known as no-fault insurance
in Kansas. This type of coverage helps pay for things like your medical expenses and lost wages after a car accident, no matter who is at fault.
Proof of Car Insurance in Kansas
Kansas state law requires you to show a copy of your car insurance ID card when requested by a police officer or other party if involved in a motor vehicle accident.
If you’re a licensed driver in the state of Kansas, it’s smart to keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in your vehicle, along with your registration. Kansas is also among several states that accepts electronic proof of car insurance. With The Hartford mobile app
, you can store your car insurance ID cards right on your phone. For more information, visit the Google Play
™ or App Store
Kansas Uninsured Driver Facts
According to a 2021 Insurance Research Council report, 10.9% of Kansas drivers are uninsured. This is below the national average of 12.6%.3 Kansas requires uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage to help with your medical bills after an accident caused by either an uninsured driver or a driver who does not have adequate auto insurance coverage. Your uninsured/underinsured motorist car insurance coverage in Kansas must have the following minimum coverage amounts:2
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
Additional Car Insurance Coverages Available to Kansas Drivers
For added protection, Kansas drivers may also be eligible for the following auto insurance coverages from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford:
Staying Safe on Kansas Roads
As you travel through Kansas, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to keep drivers in Kansas safe. Here are just a few:4
Kansas Seat Belt Laws:
Kansas is one of 34 states that have a primary seat belt law, which means that law enforcement can ticket drivers in Kansas or passengers for not wearing a seat belt without any other traffic violation.
Kansas Distracted Driving Laws:
Kansas has a number of laws in place to discourage distracted driving, like:
- New drivers in Kansas are not allowed to use hand-held or hands-free cell phones.
- Texting while driving is banned in the State of Kansas.
Kansas Teen Driver Laws:
Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for teenagers, and Kansas wants to be sure they stay safe in the process. Kansas has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teenagers gain the experience and maturity that’s required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.
Kansas Car Insurance Quotes
To learn more about insurance requirements in Kansas or to get a quote, speak with one of our specialists at 888-546-9099
or get a cita
online. We’ll help you find the best auto coverages to fit your individual needs.
Last Updated: October 5, 2023
2 Kansas Insurance Department, “Auto Insurance”
3 Insurance Information Institute, “Facts + Statistics: Uninsured Motorists”
4 Governors Highway Safety Administration, “States”