Delaware Auto Insurance Coverage
You've come to the right place if you're looking to get a cotización de seguro para autos
as a Delaware driver. Or, if you just need information about buying Delaware car insurance, we can help with that, too. Drivers in the Diamond State are lucky to have beautiful destinations, like the Wilmington riverfront and scenic coastlines, just a short drive away.
Even if you aren't driving far, it's still important to have car insurance that you can trust. The AARP® Auto Insurance
Program from The Hartford1
has been protecting Delaware AARP members and their families since 1984. We've earned a reputation for integrity, trust and great customer service. The Hartford's customers rate us highly for our car insurance claim service because they can rely on our car insurance to be there when it's needed most.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered to Delaware Drivers
Delaware drivers could receive valuable car insurance benefits and discounts
on their insurance rates from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
- New Car Replacement§§
- Accident Forgiveness‡
- Desaparición progresiva del deducible‡
- Servicio de reclamaciones 24/7
What Are the Minimum Requirements for Auto Insurance in Delaware?
Minimum coverage requirements vary by state. Delaware state law requires liability car insurance coverage in Delaware at the following minimum limits:2
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability, per person per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability, total per accident
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
Proof of Car Insurance in Delaware
Delaware state law requires you to furnish a copy of your car insurance ID card when requested by a police officer or other party if involved in an accident.
If you're a licensed driver in the state of Delaware, it's smart to keep a copy of your car insurance ID card in your vehicle, along with your registration. Delaware is also among several states that now accept electronic proof of car insurance, and with The Hartford mobile app
, you can store your car insurance ID cards right on your phone. For more information, visit the Google Play
™ or App Store
Delaware Uninsured Driver Facts
According to a 2021 Insurance Research Council report, 8.5% of Delaware drivers are uninsured, which is below the national average of 12.6%.3 Being involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist could be financially devastating. Delaware does not require drivers to carry this coverage, but The Hartford offers this valuable coverage to give you peace of mind in case you're in an accident with an uninsured motorist.
Additional Car Insurance Coverages Available to Delaware Drivers
For added protection, Delaware drivers may also be eligible for full coverage with additional las coberturas de seguro para autos
from the AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford, including:
Is Delaware a No-Fault Car Insurance State?
Delaware is an at-fault state. This means you're responsible for paying for injuries or property damage resulting from an accident that was your fault. Delaware requires drivers to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage. This coverage helps with expenses like medical bills and lost wages for a driver and their passengers. It can also help pay for services like childcare or housecleaning if you're unable to do them after a car accident.
Staying Safe on Delaware Roads
As you travel through Delaware, there are a number of safe driving laws meant to protect you on the road. Here are just a few:4
Delaware Seat Belt Laws
Delaware is one of 34 states that have a primary seat belt law, which means that law enforcement can ticket a driver or passenger for not wearing a seat belt without any other traffic violation.
Delaware Distracted Driving Laws
Delaware has several laws in place to discourage distracted driving:
- Hand-held cell phones are banned for all drivers in Delaware
- New drivers in Delaware are not allowed to use hand-held or hands-free cell phones
- Texting while driving is banned in Delaware
Delaware Teen Driver Laws
Getting a driver's license is a rite of passage for teenagers, and Delaware wants to be sure teen drivers stay safe in the process. Delaware has implemented graduated licensing laws to ensure that teens gain the experience and maturity that's required to be safe behind the wheel. Graduated licensing laws limit nighttime driving, restrict teen passengers and ensure an adequate amount of supervised driving practice.
How Can I Get a Car Insurance Quote in Delaware?
It takes only minutes to get a Delaware auto insurance quote from The Hartford. You can call a representative at 888-413-8970
o obtener una cotización
online. We'll help you decide which insurance products and services best fit your needs.
Last Updated: October 13, 2023
2 Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles, Delaware Driver Manual
3 Insurance Information Institute, Facts + Statistics: Uninsured motorists
4 Governors Highway Safety Association, States