Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Law
Workers’ comp insurance isn’t just important to have, it is actually a requirement in most states. In Tennessee, businesses with five or more employees must carry el seguro de compensación para trabajadores
. Having this coverage will give your employees benefits if they suffer from a work-related injury or illness. It can help cover their medical costs and replace some of their lost income if they miss work.
Tennessee workers’ compensation helps protect your business and employees by paying for:
Medical bills resulting from a work-related injury or illness. In Tennessee, you must give your workers a choice of physicians in the local area.1
Lost wages if injured employees need time off work to recover. In most cases, your employees receive workers’ comp benefits in the form of average weekly wages based on total earnings before their injury.
If your business needs workers compensation coverage, it’s up to you to find an insurance company with comprehensive coverage. At The Hartford, we offer this and can provide you with both seguro de negocio
and workers’ compensation coverage.
How Does Workman’s' Comp Work in Tennessee?
Workers’ compensation coverage helps protect your business from expensive lawsuits. It also helps pay for medical care, partial wage replacement and funeral benefits to a deceased employees’ family members.
In Tennessee, it is required by law to carry workers’ compensation insurance if you have five or more employees. Keep in mind that Tennessee counts family members, part-time workers and an officer of a corporation as employees.2
Businesses involved in coal mining and construction services also need workers’ compensation insurance in the state. However, construction businesses that are sole proprietors do not need this coverage.3
Our specialists can help ensure your Tennessee business has the coverage it needs. To get started, get a workers' comp quote
Additional Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Coverage
Workers’ compensation insurance may cover:
Accidents or injuries resulting from a work-related activity that need medical treatment.
Illnesses caused by harmful chemicals or allergens in the workplace.
Disabilities from severe injuries if employees can’t return to work. In some cases, they may be able to return to work, but in a different role.
Ongoing medical treatment for a work-related injury or illness. For example, if your employee hurts their leg at work and needs physical therapy.
Employee’s missed wages through disability benefits if they need time off to recover from work related injuries or illnesses.
Funeral costs if your employee dies due to a work-related accident. This can be a big help to the deceased worker’s family.
Repetitive stress injury, like carpal tunnel. These repetitive injuries can take months or years to develop.
How Much Is Workers' Comp in Tennessee?
The estimated employer rates for Tennessee workers’ compensation insurance are $0.81 per $100 in covered payroll. Costs will vary depending on your business’ services and size, your location, claims history, risk factors and other coverage limitations.
TN Workers’ Comp Exemption
The Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation oversees the Tennessee Workers Compensation Act, making sure businesses follow the rules. 4
According to Tennessee workers’ compensation law, some businesses are exempt from workers’ compensation. These exempt businesses have:
Local or state government employees
An initial workers’ compensation exemption registration in the registry6
A subsequent workers’ compensation exemption if you’ve already filed an initial form but want to add more businesses7
If an exempt business has an employee that gets injured on the job, that employee will not receive workers’ comp insurance benefits. So, there’s a chance they could sue your business to help pay their medical bills. That’s why, even if your business is exempt, you may still want to have workers’ compensation coverage.
Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Forms
Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Claims
To file a compensable claim, visit The Hartford’s reclamaciones
page today. If you’re wondering how much workers comp insurance will cost your business, obtener una cotización
today. Small businesses like yours have counted on our insurance company to keep them protected for over 200 years. Let us help you get the peace of mind you need to keep your employees covered.
1 TN Department of Labor & Workforce Development, “A Beginner's Guide to TN Workers' Compensation”
2 TN Department of Labor & Workforce Development, “Who Must Carry Insurance”
3 Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development, “How Many Employees Do I Have to Have Before I am Required to Have Workers’ Compensation Insurance?”
4 TN Department of Labor & Workforce Development, “Injuries at Work: Bureau of Workers’ Compensation”
5,6 Division of Business Services, “Initial Workers’ Compensation Exemption Registration”
7 Tennessee Secretary of State, “Workers’ Compensation Exemption Registry Online”