Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Laws
Named after a Native American word meaning “Father of Waters,” for the Mississippi River, Mississippi is home to about three million people.1
That means there are millions of people employed throughout the state.
Small businesses with five or more employees in Mississippi need el seguro de compensación para trabajadores
This coverage can help provide benefits to your employees if they get injured or ill from working. For example, if your employee falls off a ladder at work, your workers’ comp coverage can help pay for their medical benefits.
Mississippi workers’ comp can also help cover expenses related to:
Employee’s missed wages when they need time off to recover from a work-related injury or illness
Lawsuits filed against your business due to work-related injuries or illnesses
Funeral costs in the unfortunate event of an employee dying in a work-related incident
Is Workers’ Compensation Required in MS?
If your Mississippi business has five or more employees, you’ll need workers’ compensation coverage. There are a few exemptions to workers’ comp requirements in Mississippi. Employers that do not need workers’ comp insurance include:3
Employees of charitable organizations
Employees of religious or cultural organizations
Certain maritime or transportation employees that have coverage from federal compensation laws
How Does Workman’s Comp Work in Mississippi?
In addition to helping your employees, workers’ comp can help protect the business you’ve worked hard to build. In Mississippi, workers injured on the job can immediately file a claim against you. In cases like these, your insurance coverage can be your best form of protection. Without the right coverage, you can face fines or criminal charges. Luckily, you can get the insurance coverage you need by working with a private insurance company like us. To learn more, obtener una cotización
Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Coverage
Workers’ compensation insurance in Mississippi can help cover:
Accidents or injuries that occur on the job. For example, if workplace accidents occur, like an employee spraining their ankle on the job, workers’ comp can help cover their medical care.
Illnesses that result from the job, like an employee getting sick from harmful chemicals.
Repetitive injuries from repeated stress and strain. Tendonitis is one example of a repetitive stress injury.
If one of your employees experiences a workplace injury or illness, Mississippi workers’ compensation can help cover:
Missed wages if your employee needs time off to recover from a work-related injury or illness. Employees in Mississippi can receive wage loss benefits equal to as much as two-thirds of their average weekly wage.4
Ongoing care, such as physical therapy, if your employee suffers a severe injury with a longer recovery.
Funeral expenses if an employee dies in a job-related incident. Death benefits are payable to the employee’s family every 14 days and can continue for up to 450 weeks.5
Disability benefits if your employee suffers an on-the-job injury and becomes temporarily or permanently disabled. Workers’ comp can help provide medical benefits and disability payments while they recover.
How Much Does MS Workers’ Comp Insurance Cost?
The cost of workers’ compensation can vary. Some factors that can impact the amount you’ll pay for workers’ compensation in Mississippi, include your:
Employees’ type of work
Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission
The office of the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission is in the City of Jackson. This Mississippi compensation commission remains in continuous session to adopt new rules and amendments as needed.6
Who Is Eligible for Workers’ Compensation Benefits in MS?
In Mississippi, your employees are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits as soon as they start their job. There is no waiting period or minimum earnings requirement.7
As the employer, you’ll need to make detailed, accurate reports of any injuries. Once you complete your report, you should submit it to your insurance carrier and the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission.8
All injured employees should notify their employer of an injury within 30 days. If your employee doesn’t file a claim for benefits within two years of the date of injury or illness, they can no longer receive benefits for it.9
File an MS Workers’ Compensation Claim
This article provides general information, and should not be construed as specific legal, HR, financial, insurance, tax or accounting advice. As with all matters of a legal or human resources nature, you should consult with your own legal counsel and human resources professionals. The Hartford shall not be liable for any direct, indirect, special, consequential, incidental, punitive or exemplary damages in connection with the use by you or anyone of the information provided herein.
1 Encyclopedia Britannica, Inc., “Mississippi”
2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 Mississippi Worker’s Compensation Commission, “Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Facts”