Maine Workers’ Compensation Laws
In the Pine Tree State, nearly every employer is required to have Maine workers’ compensation insurance.1 Workers’ compensation insurance
provides benefits to your employees if they get hurt or sick from their job. It also limits the amount of liability you could face if an injury or illness happens.
Is Workers’ Compensation Required in Maine?
Maine workers’ comp laws require most employers to carry coverage. However, there are certain employers that are exempt from this law, such as:2
- Agriculture or aquaculture employers with seasonal or casual workers as long as the business has at least $25,000 in employer liability insurance and $5,000 in medical payments coverage.
- Agricultural or aquaculture businesses with six or fewer workers who have liability insurance of at least $100,000 for each full-time employee and at least $5,000 in medical payments coverage.
- Domestic workers in a private home.
- Sole proprietors who don’t have any employees.
- Independent contractors hired on a project basis who are not full-time employees.
If you’re not exempt, you must have workers’ compensation coverage. Without it, your employees can sue you if they get a work-related injury or illness. Your business may also face fines and criminal charges.3
Our specialists can help you get the coverage your business needs. Obtenga una workers’ compensation insurance quote
Maine Workers’ Compensation Insurance Coverage
Workers’ comp in Maine helps protect both employers and employees. As an employer, you get protection against lawsuits resulting from workplace injuries or illnesses. And your employees will receive benefits that can help them recover from a work-related injury or illness. It can help cover:
- Accidents or injuries that occur due to an employee’s job.
- Wage replacement if your employee has to miss work to recover from a work-related injury or illness.
- Medical treatment for an employee’s work-related injury or illness.
- Ongoing care costs, like physical therapy or surgeries.
- Illnesses caused from working in a poorly ventilated area or with harmful chemicals.
- Repetitive injuries, like carpal tunnel syndrome, that develop over time.
- Funeral costs if an employee loses their life in a workplace accident.
- Disability benefits if a work-related injury or illness causes temporary or permanent disability.
Maine bases workers’ compensation benefit payments on an employee’s average weekly wage. You can get more information about compensation calculations
on the Maine Workers’ Compensation Board’s website.
How Much Is Workers’ Comp in Maine?
Costs to get workers’ comp insurance for small business
may vary in Maine. That’s because every small business is different. An insurance company use different factors to determine workers’ comp costs. A calculation you can use to estimate your insurance rate is:
Workers’ Class Code Rate X Claims Experience Modifier X (Payroll / $100) = Premium**
Class codes identify the amount of risk an employee faces in their job.4 For example, a construction worker faces more hazard than a retail worker, so the class code will reflect that.
Your experience modifier relates to your business’ claims history. The safer your business and employees have been, the lower your workers’ comp insurance rate can be.
How Does Workers’ Comp Work in Maine?
Maine’s workers’ compensation laws require employees to notify employers within 30 days of an incident that results in an injury or illness. After 30 days, they lose their right to getting workers’ compensation benefits.5
Employers must complete the first report of injury within seven days of finding out about the incident. They also need to provide the injured worker with a copy of this report once it’s finished.6
Maine’s workers’ compensation laws allow the employer to choose the healthcare provider for the injured worker, who will treat them for the first 10 days. After that, employees can choose their own provider.7 Even if an employee visits a doctor of their choice, employers can still request to see a different provider for a second opinion.8
When an employee who received workers’ compensation benefits returns to work, they should notify you and the Maine Workers’ Compensation Board within seven days.9
Employees can contact the Workers’ Compensation Board in one of several regional offices:
Maine Workers’ Compensation Claims
To file a workman’s comp claim in Maine, visit our workers’ comp claim
page today. Our insurance specialists can answer any questions you have and help protect your employees.
** This is a simplified calculation for educational purposes only. Actual premium calculations can be more complex. Experience mods are subject to state requirements and do not apply to every policy.
1,2,4 Department of Professional & Financial Regulation, “An Employer’s Guide to Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Maine”
3 Maine Legislature, “Title 39-A: Workers’ Compensation”
5,6,7 8,9 Maine.gov, “Facts About Maine’s Workers’ Compensation Laws”